Form 8-K





Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)

of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): April 26, 2018




(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




Texas   1-31447   74-0694415

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)

1111 Louisiana  
Houston, Texas   77002
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (713) 207-1111



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions (see General Instruction A.2. below):


  Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


  Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


  Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


  Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is an emerging growth company as defined in Rule 405 of the Securities Act of 1933 (§230.405) or Rule 12b-2 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (§240.12b-2).

Emerging Growth Company  ☐

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act.  ☐




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

At the annual meeting of the shareholders of CenterPoint Energy, Inc. (“CenterPoint Energy”) held on April 26, 2018, the matters voted upon and the number of votes cast for or against, as well as the number of abstentions and broker non-votes as to such matters, were as stated below. The proposals related to each matter are described in detail in CenterPoint Energy’s definitive proxy statement for the annual meeting, which was filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on March 15, 2018.

Election of Directors (Item 1)

The following nominees for director were elected to serve one-year terms expiring at the 2019 annual meeting of shareholders, with the vote totals as set forth in the table below:



   For      Against      Abstentions      Broker Non-Votes  

Leslie D. Biddle

     312,886,688        3,547,204        795,317        50,480,049  

Milton Carroll

     306,593,117        9,854,996        781,096        50,480,049  

Scott J. McLean

     313,776,181        2,594,970        858,058        50,480,049  

Martin H. Nesbitt

     310,242,736        6,107,102        879,371        50,480,049  

Theodore F. Pound

     311,827,412        4,497,999        903,798        50,480,049  

Scott M. Prochazka

     313,624,653        2,916,042        688,514        50,480,049  

Susan O. Rheney

     312,974,538        3,513,651        741,020        50,480,049  

Phillip R. Smith

     312,545,580        3,788,860        894,769        50,480,049  

John W. Somerhalder II

     313,143,605        3,234,633        850,971        50,480,049  

Peter S. Wareing

     305,018,982        11,330,116        880,111        50,480,049  

Ratification of Appointment of Independent Auditors (Item 2)

The appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as independent registered public accountants for CenterPoint Energy for 2018 was ratified, with the vote totals as set forth in the table below:








Broker Non-Votes


   16,009,467    908,410    0

Advisory Vote on Executive Compensation (Item 3)

The advisory resolution on executive compensation was approved, with the vote totals as set forth in the table below:








Broker Non-Votes


   28,326,054    1,831,440    50,480,049


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


Date: April 30, 2018     By:  

/s/ Dana C. O’Brien

      Dana C. O’Brien
      Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Assistant Secretary