ASPEN Names Candidates for Vars Award

By: PRLog
PRLog - Dec. 18, 2013 - SILVER SPRING, Md. -- The American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) today releases the names of the candidates for the Harry M. Vars Award.

The Vars Award serves as a tribute to Dr. Vars and his seminal contributions to the development of total parenteral nutrition.  Dr. Vars’ work exploring the role of intravenous nutrition in wound healing was an important catalyst in the development of parenteral nutrition. The Vars Award will be presented to the investigator with the best research presentation at ASPEN Clinical Nutrition Week conference in Savannah, Ga., January 18 to 21, 2014.

The candidates for the 2014 Vars Award are:

•  Allison Blackmer, PharmD, BCPS, University of Michigan, College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor, MI
Abstract Title: Long-term Neurodevelopmental Outcomes of Infants Treated with Intravenous Fat Emulsion Reduction for the Management of Parenteral Nutrition-associated Cholestasis

•  Carol Braunschweig, PhD, RD, University of Illinois, at Chicago, Chicago, IL
Abstract Title: Intensive Nutrition in Acute Lung Injury:  A Clinical Trial (INTACT)

•  Kenneth B. Christopher, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
Abstract Title: Association between Pre-hospital Vitamin D Status and Hospital-acquired Clostridium difficile Infections

•  D. Dante Yeh, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
Abstract Title: Reasons for Enteral Nutrition Cessation in Surgical Intensive Care Unit Patients

•  Anne Coltman, MS, RD, LDN, CNSC, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
Sarah Peterson, MS, RD, CNSC, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
Abstract Title: Use of Three Nutrition Screening Tools to Assess Nutrition Risk in the Intensive Care Unit

“ASPEN’s research awards help stimulate research and foster improvement in the quality of published professional articles,” said Todd Rice, MD, MSc, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Associate Director, Vanderbilt Medical ICU; and ASPEN Abstract Review Committee Co-chair. “They also give researchers the opportunity to be recognized for their hard work.”

Anne Tucker, PharmD, BCNSP, Clinical Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy, University of Houston; and ASPEN Abstract Review Committee Co-Chair adds, “All of our award winners are very talented individuals, and we look forward to their continued contribution to the important medical specialty of nutrition support therapy.”

* * * * * *

The American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) is dedicated to improving patient care by advancing the science and practice of nutrition support therapy and metabolism. Founded in 1976, ASPEN is an interdisciplinary organization whose members are involved in the provision of clinical nutrition therapies, including parenteral and enteral nutrition. With more than 5,500 members from around the world, ASPEN. is a community of dietitians, nurses, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, physicians, scientists, students and other health professionals from every facet of nutrition support clinical practice, research and education. For more information about ASPEN, please visit

Read Full Story - ASPEN Names Candidates for Vars Award | More news from this source

Press release distribution by PRLog

Data & News supplied by
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.